Ecommerce software home
Shopping Cart Software Forum for Ecommerce Templates
 
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter View our YouTube channel
Search our site
 All Forums
 Technical
 Tips and Tricks - HALL OF FAME
 101 uses for custom fields
Author « Topic »  

Andy
ECT Moderator

95440 Posts

Posted - 02/05/2015 :  06:27:52  
Well, maybe not 101 but here are some examples of using the custom fields on the product detail page.

You'll need to be running a minimum version of 6.4 and using the css products layouts http://www.ecommercetemplates.com/help/css-layouts.asp with element ordering http://www.ecommercetemplates.com/help/css-layouts.asp#proddetailorder

Shipping Info

http://www.ectdemostore.com/Build-Your-Own

This is what we have in vsadmin/includes.asp

usecsslayout=TRUE
detailpagelayout="navigation,productimage,productid,manufacturer,sku,productname,instock,custom1,discounts,description,listprice,price,currency,options,quantity,addtocart,previousnext,emailfriend,reviews,searchwords"

This goes in the custom field in the product admin

<div class="lg1"><img src="images/lg.png"></div><div class="lg"> - Ships in 2 days - Click & Collect available</div>

This is the css used

div.lg1{
float:left;
padding:4px 10px 0px 10px;
}

div.lg{
float:left;
padding:9px 0px 0px 0px;
}

div.detailcustom1{
border:1px solid #ccc;
background:#f1f1f1;
width:60%;
float:left;
}

Other examples

http://www.ectdemostore.com/Laser-Printer
http://www.ectdemostore.com/Portable-PC

Social media buttons

http://ectwp.com/White-Football-Boots

This just uses the code provided by addthis.com and pasted into the Custom field in the product admin page.

If you have any ideas or uses of the custom fields, please share them here.

Andy

Please feel free to review / rate our software

dbdave
ECT Moderator

USA
10276 Posts

Posted - 02/05/2015 :  08:28:30  
We use one of them to embed a You-tube video in the page.

David
ECT Power User :)

Sinbad
ECT Moderator

USA
65936 Posts

Posted - 02/05/2015 :  16:41:10  
I've added social media code addthis works like a charm.

Winners never quit, quitters never win
User Manual for Ecommerce Templates

Andy
ECT Moderator

95440 Posts

Posted - 02/06/2015 :  07:09:32  
Search Words / Tags

Although not strictly a custom field it is a way of adding new searchable content and search engine friendly keywords to the detail page

http://www.ectdemostore.com/Build-Your-Own

The css used here is

div.searchwords{
float:left;
border: 1px solid #ccc;
padding:10px;
width:90%;
margin-top:16px;
background:#F1F1F1;
line-height:28px;
}

a.searchwords{
margin-left:8px;
line-height:20px;
}

div.searchwordsheading{
font-weight:bold;
font-size:16px;
line-height:28px;
}

Andy

Please feel free to review / rate our software

Positivek9
Ecommerce Template Guru

USA
4061 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 02/06/2015 :  14:39:11  
Social media buttons

You can only do this with php, right? I thought I read somewhere that the addthis code is too long when on asp.

Or is this doable now?

Julie
Browns Summit NC USA

Sinbad
ECT Moderator

USA
65936 Posts

Posted - 02/06/2015 :  15:44:07  
Hi Julie, you can do it with ASP or PHP. Signup for a addthis account and configure the buttons, copy the code they provide 1 snippet to be added to the head of the page the other is added to the custom field in the product admin.

Winners never quit, quitters never win
User Manual for Ecommerce Templates

Positivek9
Ecommerce Template Guru

USA
4061 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 02/06/2015 :  15:52:04  
Oh, super good news!

Julie
Browns Summit NC USA

Sinbad
ECT Moderator

USA
65936 Posts

Posted - 02/11/2015 :  13:18:38  
Another use for those that use a secrete admin and want to use custom fields without having to display it on the site. Add the parameter to the includes in the secrete admin folder only not in the main vsadmin/incudes If you don't mind the general public seeing the information then add it to both include files. I Just did it for UPC codes for a site that needs both UPC and SKU worked like a charm.

Winners never quit, quitters never win
User Manual for Ecommerce Templates

cooper
Ecommerce Template Guru

USA
2807 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 01/14/2016 :  23:38:09  
Search Words / Tags

Andy, can you expand on how you did that? Specifically make the search words "searchable" links?

Thank you!

Cooper

Andy
ECT Moderator

95440 Posts

Posted - 01/15/2016 :  02:51:39  
Hi Bill

They are linked by default but there are some further tweaks available http://www.ecommercetemplates.com/help/ecommplus/parameters.asp#showtags

Andy

Please feel free to review / rate our software

dbdave
ECT Moderator

USA
10276 Posts

Posted - 02/12/2018 :  20:55:00  
In the admin, there have been requests to have the custom fields available in the quick entry drop down.
Well, the developer was kind enough to add a really great feature in a recent release.
This is the ability to add any custom database columns some of us might have, to that drop down. Well I just tested and it works fine with the ect custom fields available for your products.
Here are the release notes - https://www.ecommercetemplates.com/support/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=109004

so for .asp add this to your includes
customquickupdate="pCustom1,pCustom2,pCustom3"

for .php it should be
$customquickupdate="pCustom1,pCustom2,pCustom3";

gwilson
Starting Member

44 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 08/06/2019 :  12:22:44  
in the top post where it states "This goes in the custom field in the product admin" I am trying to add a custom field that will have a value entered in the Admin Product and then display in the product detail web page. I'm sorry, but I don't follow where the pieces go? Where in product admin? in adminprods.asp (top level) In the vsadmin/inc/incproddetail.asp?
Where is 'in the custom field?'

dbdave
ECT Moderator

USA
10276 Posts

Posted - 08/06/2019 :  13:10:15  
Hi gwilson, you need to activate them first by adding it to your includes. The first post there has a link to details.
https://www.ecommercetemplates.com/help/css-layouts.asp#proddetailorder

quote:
Change the order of elements on the product detail page

If you want to be able to order the elements on the product detail page, add the following to vsadmin/includes.asp, setting the order of your choice...

detailpagelayout="navigation, checkoutbutton, productimage, productid, manufacturer, sku, productname, discounts, instock, description, listprice, price, quantity, currency, dateadded, options, addtocart, previousnext, emailfriend, reviews, socialmedia"

..or to vsadmin/includes.php

$detailpagelayout='navigation, checkoutbutton, productimage, productid, manufacturer, sku, productname, discounts, instock, description, listprice, price, quantity, currency, dateadded, options, addtocart, previousnext, emailfriend, reviews, socialmedia';

Please note that a minimum version of 6.2.6 is required.

The custom fields can be added to the list, also in the order of your choice. For these to appear you'll need to add custom1, custom2, custom3

*******************************************

Can I add labels to the custom fields?

The custom fields were added in version 6.3 and will appear in the product admin page once they have been added to includes.asp / includes.php. If you want to add labels to the fields you'll need the following in vsadmin/includes.asp

detailcustomlabel1="Custom Title 1 "
detailcustomlabel2="Custom Title 2 "
detailcustomlabel3="Custom Title 3 "

or in includes.php

$detailcustomlabel1="Custom Title 1 ";
$detailcustomlabel2="Custom Title 2 ";
$detailcustomlabel3="Custom Title 3 ";

For the product page you would use

prodcustomlabel1="Custom Title 1 "
prodcustomlabel2="Custom Title 2 "
prodcustomlabel3="Custom Title 3 "

or in includes.php

$prodcustomlabel1="Custom Title 1 ";
$prodcustomlabel2="Custom Title 2 ";
$prodcustomlabel3="Custom Title 3 ";

To add these labels in the product admin page use

admincustomlabel1="Custom Title 1 "
admincustomlabel2="Custom Title 2 "
admincustomlabel3="Custom Title 3 "

or in includes.php

$admincustomlabel1="Custom Title 1 ";
$admincustomlabel2="Custom Title 2 ";
$admincustomlabel3="Custom Title 3 " ;






  « Topic »  
Jump To:
Shopping Cart Software Forum for Ecommerce Templates © 2002-2022 ecommercetemplates.com
This page was generated in 0.03 seconds. Snitz Forums 2000