Author « Topic »
Page: of 2

Ecommerce Template Expert

USA
972 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 07/22/2020 :  05:35:06  
A quick question about the feed. All of my products expired a few days ago. I went from having almost 15k products in my Google Merchant feed to 0 this morning.

I am still learning about the feed (obviously). Is there an expiration date on all products in the feed, or does Google do this on their own? I downloaded the GMerchLister again, saved it as gbase and re-uploaded it to Google, hoping they will accept it.

Am I supposed to upload the feed every 30 days (or so)?
Is there an expiration date on all of the products that I can change in the file?
Or is there a potential problem with the feed, etc that caused all of the products to expire?

quadrant
Ecommerce Template Guru

United Kingdom
1099 Posts

Posted - 07/22/2020 :  07:50:23  
Hi,

If you manually upload your feed it will expire automatically so you will need to go into your merchant center and visit:
Product > Feeds
then click on the feed in question and you should see Re-Process Feed in the top right.

Clicking this will refresh your existing feed to prevent the products expiring.
No need to re-upload if there are no changes to your product listing.

We had to do this when we first started using shopping a few years back and there were occasions when we forgot to they expired.
I seem to remember the shopping admin notifications do not cover this so there is no reminder from Google.

The feed now sits on our server and Google fetches it every day so it solves the expiry issue.

Regards,
David

USA
972 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 07/22/2020 :  08:50:04  
Thanks David