Ecommerce software home
Shopping Cart Software Forum for Ecommerce Templates
 
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter View our YouTube channel
Search our site
 All Forums
 General
 Search Engines & Marketing
 Google Dropping Pages for Products Issues
Previous Page
Author « Topic »
Page: of 2

midvalleydrifter001
Ecommerce Template Expert

USA
912 Posts

Posted - 05/24/2020 :  12:03:55  
Here is how to do it in a flash.

https://www.wikihow.com/Add-Autonumber-in-Excel

insight
ECT Moderator

USA
4476 Posts

Posted - 05/24/2020 :  12:19:37  
I don't have Excel. But I'm pretty sure I can change this:
"description" : "<%=pDescription%>",<% IF pSKU<>"" THEN %>
"sku" : "<%=pSKU%>",<%END IF%><% IF pBrand<>"" THEN %>
to this:
"description" : "<%=pDescription%>",<% IF pID<>"" THEN %>
"sku" : "<%=pID%>",<%END IF%><% IF pBrand<>"" THEN %>
before you've even got Excel open. Doesn't get overwritten in ECT updates and I don't have to remember to add a unique SKU for every new product going forward .

<added>This is quite a common issue, so it would be a useful feature addition for the developer to add a "use pID for SKU" configuration option at the start. Should be in core imo.

Peter


Professional ecommerce web hosting services
Shared hosting Windows & Linux | Dedicated servers | Domains | SSL
Ecommerce Templates specialists since 2003
https://servelink.com

Edited by - insight on 05/24/2020 12:22:53

1234
Ecommerce Template Expert

USA
972 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 05/24/2020 :  12:26:01  
Peter,

That's what I was looking for! I had asked someone else where/how to make the change but haven't heard back from them yet.

Where exactly is this located?

"description" : "<%=pDescription%>",<% IF pSKU<>"" THEN %>
"sku" : "<%=pSKU%>",<%END IF%><% IF pBrand<>"" THEN %>

midvalleydrifter001
Ecommerce Template Expert

USA
912 Posts

Posted - 05/24/2020 :  12:29:27  
That's a great idea Peter.

Thanks for sharing.

Always more than one way to skin a cat.

Patrick

insight
ECT Moderator

USA
4476 Posts

Posted - 05/24/2020 :  12:37:03  
quote:
Where exactly is this located?

Near the bottom of the product_schema.asp file, about twenty lines up from the end.

Peter


Professional ecommerce web hosting services
Shared hosting Windows & Linux | Dedicated servers | Domains | SSL
Ecommerce Templates specialists since 2003
https://servelink.com

1234
Ecommerce Template Expert

USA
972 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 05/24/2020 :  12:43:45  
Found it! I don't know why, but I was looking somewhere else entirely.

The change has been made.

Thanks again to all, and to all a great holiday!

1234
Ecommerce Template Expert

USA
972 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 05/24/2020 :  13:04:49  
I may have spoke too soon. I made the change to:
"description" : "<%=pDescription%>",<% IF pID<>"" THEN %>
"sku" : "<%=pID%>",<%END IF%><% IF pBrand<>"" THEN %>

However the products are still showing "The sku field is recommended. Please provide a value if available" in Google Structured Data Test Tool.

Is this something that needs a little time to propagate I wonder? I'm not sure if this makes any difference but I see that the Product ID field has been changed to the "Reference" field in admin. Is the "Reference" field still referred to as "pID"?

insight
ECT Moderator

USA
4476 Posts

Posted - 05/24/2020 :  13:39:01  
Worked with PHP :shrug: Alright, well you could try this then, line 62, change it to read like this:
pSKU = rs("pID")


Peter


Professional ecommerce web hosting services
Shared hosting Windows & Linux | Dedicated servers | Domains | SSL
Ecommerce Templates specialists since 2003
https://servelink.com

1234
Ecommerce Template Expert

USA
972 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 05/24/2020 :  16:09:46  
That didn't work either.

I am assuming the the product_schema file is working. My issues went from 7 to 3 after installing it but I suppose it could have just been a coincidence though. Is there a way to test to see if the product_schema is actually working?

dbdave
ECT Moderator

USA
10269 Posts

Posted - 05/24/2020 :  16:13:57  
I think I had to make some changes to my file from Mike. I see if I can locate what I did.
I expect Mike would make the change for you too.
Just tell him you want to use the product ID for the SKU.

Here is a tool where you can plug in a URL and see what's happening
https://search.google.com/structured-data/testing-tool

Thanks,
David

1234
Ecommerce Template Expert

USA
972 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 05/24/2020 :  16:14:17  
I guess I just answered my own question. I removed product_schema.asp from my server. That showed a 500 error on all product detail pages, so I put it back and is working again.

I reeeeallly don't want to download my inventory and assign sku's to 15,500 products

insight
ECT Moderator

USA
4476 Posts

Posted - 05/24/2020 :  16:14:58  
It does work. Have a look around line 780 in your source code.

Peter


Professional ecommerce web hosting services
Shared hosting Windows & Linux | Dedicated servers | Domains | SSL
Ecommerce Templates specialists since 2003
https://servelink.com

1234
Ecommerce Template Expert

USA
972 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 05/24/2020 :  16:21:39  
The changes seemed to have taken affect.

When I removed the product_schema.asp file from my server to test if it was working, I uploaded it again and it is not showing the SKU warning any longer.

For some reason overwriting was not changing the file, but deleting it and then placing it back on the server worked.

So..I'm not sure if it was the pSKU= rs("pID") that worked or the
"description" : "<%=pDescription%>",<% IF pID<>"" THEN %>
"sku" : "<%=pID%>",<%END IF%><% IF pBrand<>"" THEN %>

Or both. Nonetheless it is working now.

Thanks again Peter and everyone else! Sorry so many posts.

insight
ECT Moderator

USA
4476 Posts

Posted - 05/24/2020 :  16:25:40  
quote:
So..I'm not sure if it was the pSKU= rs("pID") that worked

You only want that part on the ASP cart, it would appear.

Peter


Professional ecommerce web hosting services
Shared hosting Windows & Linux | Dedicated servers | Domains | SSL
Ecommerce Templates specialists since 2003
https://servelink.com

DLSS
ECT Moderator

Canada
3933 Posts

Posted - 05/25/2020 :  11:25:00  
Peter was correct
quote:

line 62, change it to read like this:
pSKU = rs("pID")




This will do it. You should not change the second IF statements as it will be stored in the pSKU variable, not the pID.

I hope you got it working. If not send me an email.

Mike Beebe
President,
DataLinks Software Solutions
www.dlss.ca

Rate Me Here

ASP and PHP mods - www.dlss.ca/products.asp
A Tremendous Home - www.ATremendousHome.com
Buy Cigars Online www.CigarSmokeShop.net

1234
Ecommerce Template Expert

USA
972 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 05/25/2020 :  13:10:35  
Hey Mike,

Thanks for the post. It seems to be working now after I made the changes that Peter suggested.

line 62,
pSKU = rs("pID")

Should change this back (to pSKU)?

"description" : "<%=pDescription%>",<% IF pID<>"" THEN %>
"sku" : "<%=pID%>",<%END IF%><% IF pBrand<>"" THEN %>

insight
ECT Moderator

USA
4476 Posts

Posted - 05/25/2020 :  13:12:26  
Yes.

Peter


Professional ecommerce web hosting services
Shared hosting Windows & Linux | Dedicated servers | Domains | SSL
Ecommerce Templates specialists since 2003
https://servelink.com

DLSS
ECT Moderator

Canada
3933 Posts

Posted - 05/25/2020 :  13:12:27  
Yes change it back, as it is stored in the pSKU variable now.


Mike Beebe
President,
DataLinks Software Solutions
www.dlss.ca

Rate Me Here

ASP and PHP mods - www.dlss.ca/products.asp
A Tremendous Home - www.ATremendousHome.com
Buy Cigars Online www.CigarSmokeShop.net
Page: of 2 « Topic »  
Previous Page
Jump To:
Shopping Cart Software Forum for Ecommerce Templates © 2002-2022 ecommercetemplates.com
This page was generated in 0.03 seconds. Snitz Forums 2000