Ecommerce software home
Shopping Cart Software Forum for Ecommerce Templates
 
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter View our YouTube channel
Search our site
Next Page
Author « Topic »
Page: of 2

JustDucky923
Ecommerce Template Guru

USA
1332 Posts

Posted - 09/22/2017 :  08:07:37  
I have a client who is working with an SEO company and they want to put "revenue tracking code" on the site so that they can track purchases. They have asked me to put it on the "checkout page (after someone purchases a product online)". Would this code be put on the Cart Page or the Thanks Page...or somewhere else?

Andy
ECT Moderator

95440 Posts

Posted - 09/22/2017 :  08:33:09  
Hi

That's almost certainly on the thanks page.

Andy

Please feel free to review / rate our software

JustDucky923
Ecommerce Template Guru

USA
1332 Posts

Posted - 09/22/2017 :  08:42:30  
Would it simply to directly below this line (or above it)?

<div class="prodtop">Thanks...</div>
<?php include "vsadmin/inc/incthanks.php" ?>

Andy
ECT Moderator

95440 Posts

Posted - 09/22/2017 :  09:01:59  
I would put it after

<?php include "vsadmin/inc/incthanks.php" ?>

Andy

Please feel free to review / rate our software

JustDucky923
Ecommerce Template Guru

USA
1332 Posts

Posted - 10/03/2017 :  08:46:46  
I've added the code to the "Thanks" page in the area you suggested. Here is the email I got from the SEO company that is working on their Google campaign:

"I also wanted to let you know, it seems as though revenue tracking set up properly by your web master. We can see the number of transactions coming through but aren’t seeing any revenue data. Would you be able to talk to your web master to see if she knows why revenue isn’t recording. The last time I heard from here she mentioned it was already set up but it doesn’t seem like the case."

Do you have any ideas why this would be picking up the transactions but not the revenue data? The only reason I can think of why the transactions are being recorded but the revenue is not, is that the actual “money changing hands” takes place on the PayPal site, not on the Alkydigger site. The payment options on this site are “Email”, “PayPal Express”, and then “PayPal Direct Payments”. Is it possible that since no revenue is collected on the site itself – that is why they are seeing the transactions but not the revenue?

Andy
ECT Moderator

95440 Posts

Posted - 10/03/2017 :  08:54:22  
Hi

I'd guess that is down to the code you have added. For example, you can add Google Analytics for ecommerce to the site and that will give you revenue data so it's not down to the cart or payment provider - I imagine it's the code they have given you.

Andy

Please feel free to review / rate our software

JustDucky923
Ecommerce Template Guru

USA
1332 Posts

Posted - 10/03/2017 :  09:14:13  
Here is the code (I X'd out the numbers - not sure if this is a security issue at all, you can delete it and let me know if it is):

<!-- #BeginEditable "Body" -->
<div class="prodtop">Thanks...</div>
<?php include "vsadmin/inc/incthanks.php" ?>

<!-- Google Code for **LP Purchase Conversion Page -->
<script type="text/javascript">
/* <![CDATA[ */
var google_conversion_id = XXXXXXXXXXX;
var google_conversion_language = "en";
var google_conversion_format = "3";
var google_conversion_color = "ffffff";
var google_conversion_label = "XXXXXXXXXXXXX";
var google_conversion_value = 1.00;
var google_conversion_currency = "USD";
var google_remarketing_only = false;
/* ]]> */
</script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="//www.googleadservices.com/pagead/conversion.js">
</script>
<noscript>
<div style="display:inline;">
<img height="1" width="1" style="border-style:none;" alt="" src="//www.googleadservices.com/pagead/conversion/XXXXXXXX/?value=1.00&currency_code=USD&label=XXXXXXXXXXX&guid=ON&script=0"/>
</div>
</noscript>

<!-- #EndEditable -->


Can anyone tell me if there is any issue here? This code came from the "SEO experts" and they are the ones complaining that it does not work correctly and their solution is that I've added it wrong.

Paradise
Ecommerce Template Guru

USA
1602 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 10/03/2017 :  09:22:47  
I use these variables:

ecomm_prodid: <%=prodid%>,
ecomm_pagetype: product,
ecomm_totalvalue: <%=totprice%>,

Responsive Design Deals Ecomm Plus - ASP 6.8
www.paradiseclothingco.com

Andy
ECT Moderator

95440 Posts

Posted - 10/03/2017 :  09:25:38  
I think the Google Analytics code we offer will do what you need

https://www.ecommercetemplates.com/phphelp/ecommplus/parameters.asp#analytics

and I would put that on all pages.

Andy

Please feel free to review / rate our software

JustDucky923
Ecommerce Template Guru

USA
1332 Posts

Posted - 10/03/2017 :  09:57:23  
I've sent this info back to the SEO company to see if this will work for them and to get them to add in the correct account numbers, etc.

JustDucky923
Ecommerce Template Guru

USA
1332 Posts

Posted - 10/10/2017 :  13:00:38  
I just heard back from the SEO company. Here is their response. I'm not sure what to do with it. Can anyone help?

This is a custom platform, so the web developer will either know what to do here, or they’ll need to speak with whomever created the platform itself to find out more. In most cases the normal adwords code will work, but they’ll need to adjust the following lines to include the sale price:

This:

var google_conversion_value = 1.00;

Should become this:

var google_conversion_value = {WHATEVER VARIABLE THEY USE FOR THE SALE TOTAL};

And this:

<img height="1" width="1" style="border-style:none;" alt="" src="//www.googleadservices.com/pagead/conversion/841198957/?value=1.00&currency_code=USD&label=NIZkCL3zmXQQ7dqOkQM&guid=ON&script=0"/>

Should become this:

<img height="1" width="1" style="border-style:none;" alt="" src="//www.googleadservices.com/pagead/conversion/841198957/?value={WHATEVER VARIABLE THEY USE FOR THE SALE TOTAL}&currency_code=USD&label=NIZkCL3zmXQQ7dqOkQM&guid=ON&script=0"/>

Outside of that our team would have no insight into what needs to be done here, as every platform is going to use a different variable for what I mentioned above. The curly brackets I wrapped the placeholder text in above may not be a part of the variable, I just used them to make it clear what they need to replace.

Sinbad
ECT Moderator

USA
65936 Posts

Posted - 10/10/2017 :  13:58:56  
Hi did you add the code that Andy mentioned above, as that should do what you want? if not see the post here by quadrant he posted the php https://www.ecommercetemplates.com/support/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=101643



Winners never quit, quitters never win
CSS and Responsive Designs
User Manual for Ecommerce Templates

JustDucky923
Ecommerce Template Guru

USA
1332 Posts

Posted - 10/10/2017 :  14:24:53  
I'm really confused. The link you sent me to has several links off it to explain further (one link that is no longer working).

Again, here is what the SEO company said to me after I sent them the Google Analytics code from here - it is apparently not what they need. Can anyone take a look at what they written here and help me figure out where to put what...

Their email --

This is a custom platform, so the web developer will either know what to do here, or they’ll need to speak with whomever created the platform itself to find out more. In most cases the normal adwords code will work, but they’ll need to adjust the following lines to include the sale price:

This:

var google_conversion_value = 1.00;

Should become this:

var google_conversion_value = {WHATEVER VARIABLE THEY USE FOR THE SALE TOTAL};

And this:

<img height="1" width="1" style="border-style:none;" alt="" src="//www.googleadservices.com/pagead/conversion/841198957/?value=1.00&currency_code=USD&label=NIZkCL3zmXQQ7dqOkQM&guid=ON&script=0"/>

Should become this:

<img height="1" width="1" style="border-style:none;" alt="" src="//www.googleadservices.com/pagead/conversion/841198957/?value={WHATEVER VARIABLE THEY USE FOR THE SALE TOTAL}&currency_code=USD&label=NIZkCL3zmXQQ7dqOkQM&guid=ON&script=0"/>

Outside of that our team would have no insight into what needs to be done here, as every platform is going to use a different variable for what I mentioned above. The curly brackets I wrapped the placeholder text in above may not be a part of the variable, I just used them to make it clear what they need to replace.

Sinbad
ECT Moderator

USA
65936 Posts

Posted - 10/10/2017 :  14:46:03  
Hi all you need to do is read the one near the bottom by DAVE( quadrant )

Winners never quit, quitters never win
CSS and Responsive Designs
User Manual for Ecommerce Templates

JustDucky923
Ecommerce Template Guru

USA
1332 Posts

Posted - 10/11/2017 :  10:43:32  
I see what Dave posted - that the variable for sale total is:

var google_conversion_value = <?php print $ordTotal; ?>; (for php) -- is this correct?

So next, the SEO company also said that I had to put that variable into this line - see where they say "{WHATEVER VARIABLE THEY USE FOR THE SALE TOTAL}:

<img height="1" width="1" style="border-style:none;" alt="" src="//www.googleadservices.com/pagead/conversion/841198957/?value={WHATEVER VARIABLE THEY USE FOR THE SALE TOTAL}&currency_code=USD&label=NIZkCL3zmXQQ7dqOkQM&guid=ON&script=0"/>

My question-- do I add:

<?php print $ordTotal; ?>;

or

<?php print $ordTotal; ?>

or

?php print $ordTotal; ?

Or some other variation? Also, where they added the { brackets, I assume I remove those??

Sinbad
ECT Moderator

USA
65936 Posts

Posted - 10/11/2017 :  11:12:17  
Hi I would think you would just need $ordTotal but check with your SEO company to confrim.

Winners never quit, quitters never win
CSS and Responsive Designs
User Manual for Ecommerce Templates

JustDucky923
Ecommerce Template Guru

USA
1332 Posts

Posted - 10/11/2017 :  11:40:13  
When I ask them, they tell me that you guys are the ones who should be able to tell me.

I know it's the $ordTotal variable that I need, I just need to know exactly what needs to go with it (if anything), to make it work correctly on the thanks.php page. Can someone here tell me?

dbdave
ECT Moderator

USA
10276 Posts

Posted - 10/11/2017 :  11:42:18  
It's actually very easy to test it.
I have the .asp version on my site.
Load the code and place a test order and on the thanks page view source and you will see the order total. (if it's working)

What does internal revenue tracking have to do with SEO anyway?

David
ECT Power User

Edited by - dbdave on 10/11/2017 11:43:59

JustDucky923
Ecommerce Template Guru

USA
1332 Posts

Posted - 10/11/2017 :  12:00:16  
Ok, I tried that. I don't think it's working correctly.

1) The order I placed was for a $16 item, but with tax and shipping it was $24.39.

2) When viewing the page source I see the following:

var google_conversion_id = 841198957;
var google_conversion_language = "en";
var google_conversion_format = "3";
var google_conversion_color = "ffffff";
var google_conversion_label = "NIZkCL3zmXQQ7dqOkQM";
var google_conversion_value = 16;
var google_conversion_currency = "USD";
var google_remarketing_only = false;
/* ]]> */
</script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="//www.googleadservices.com/pagead/conversion.js">
</script>
<noscript>
<div style="display:inline;">
<img height="1" width="1" style="border-style:none;" alt="" src="//www.googleadservices.com/pagead/conversion/841198957/?value=$ordTotal &currency_code=USD&label=NIZkCL3zmXQQ7dqOkQM&guid=ON&script=0"/>

Two things - it looks like the "var google_conversion_value = 16;" is showing only the item amount ($16) and not the full order total.

Second - the other place where I added "$ordTotal" -- it is only showing that exact text --am I missing any characters there, or adding a space where it shouldn't be??

JustDucky923
Ecommerce Template Guru

USA
1332 Posts

Posted - 10/11/2017 :  12:06:31  
It's actually an AdWords campaign, but I have no idea why they want to track revenue in this way.

dbdave
ECT Moderator

USA
10276 Posts

Posted - 10/11/2017 :  12:47:49  
So the syntax for the second entry is not correct there.
I think you should try it a little differently.
Maybe there is a different variable for the order total with shipping charges included.
But if you are tracking sales, maybe you don't want to track the shipping charges anyway.

For our ad campaigns, we wants to know how much product was sold, and compare that to the amount we paid for advertising. I would not want shipping charges mixed in with that info personally.

I'll see if I can take a look at my site to see the amount shown there.

David
ECT Power User
Page: of 2 « Topic »  
Next Page
Jump To:
Shopping Cart Software Forum for Ecommerce Templates © 2002-2022 ecommercetemplates.com
This page was generated in 0.03 seconds. Snitz Forums 2000