Ecommerce software home
Shopping Cart Software Forum for Ecommerce Templates
 
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter View our YouTube channel
Search our site
 All Forums
 Technical
 PHP (Unix / Linux / Apache) versions
 email for price... suggestions please
Next Page
Author « Topic »
Page: of 5

webspaceunlimited
Advanced Member

United Kingdom
156 Posts

Posted - 07/25/2018 :  01:22:13  
Hi there

On a site I am building at the moment the customer wants to put a button like the email friend or ask a question that appears wheen there is no price listed - basically saying email for price - the reason is there are some items that are too good for web prices apparently..

Any suggestions how best to do this?

Many thanks
Richard

Andy
ECT Moderator

95440 Posts

Posted - 07/25/2018 :  01:23:45  
Hi Richard

You could use the zero price feature https://www.ecommercetemplates.com/phphelp/ecommplus/parameters.asp#zeroprice and then make the text an email link.

Andy

Please feel free to review / rate our software

webspaceunlimited
Advanced Member

United Kingdom
156 Posts

Posted - 07/25/2018 :  01:26:39  
did think of that first of all BUT it doesnt say what product it is emailing from

I did wonder how easy it would be to put the email a question button in the zero price field and only enble the email a question on zero price items?

Andy
ECT Moderator

95440 Posts

Posted - 07/25/2018 :  01:54:27  
I'd have thought if they were sending an email they'd have to mention what they were emailing about. I can't see a way of adding the Ask A Question feature to the zero price message I'm afraid.

Andy

Please feel free to review / rate our software

webspaceunlimited
Advanced Member

United Kingdom
156 Posts

Posted - 07/25/2018 :  06:51:58  
Any normal person would think that Andy.. my customers dont do normal I get the most convoluted excuses and reasons why stuff should be how they think it should be rather than what makes sense.

V45
Advanced Member

United Kingdom
416 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 07/25/2018 :  15:11:26  
[quote] my customers don't do normal I get the most convoluted excuses and reasons why stuff should be how they think it should be rather than what makes sense[/quote]
I thought that only ever happened to myself, thank heavens I'm not alone

Will - Bolton Manchester UK

Edited by - V45 on 07/25/2018 15:11:46

dbdave
ECT Moderator

USA
10245 Posts

Posted - 07/25/2018 :  18:16:36  
quote:
I did wonder how easy it would be to put the email a question button in the zero price field and only enble the email a question on zero price items?


I use the .asp version and I just set this up.
Basically use the same input html that calls up the ask a question feature.
We put that in the product details page so we can get the product ID added in and then use javascript to insert the link on products with a zero price
demo here - http://www.trophykitsdev.com/dev1/proddetail.asp?prod=730-G

If you don't use the ask a question feature, you can hide that with css but keep it enabled, so the ask for price will work.

If you think you can use this I will post up the simple (updater-proof) steps to make it work.

webspaceunlimited
Advanced Member

United Kingdom
156 Posts

Posted - 07/25/2018 :  23:54:58  
will my customers are nightmares.. just about to sign off on this job and they have decided they want just a list of manufacturers no graphics just a list.. alphabetical and with quick links to a b c etc....

As the categories and manufacturers share a common css.. - give me strngth

DBDave - ill take a look at that solution sounds like it has promise


webspaceunlimited
Advanced Member

United Kingdom
156 Posts

Posted - 07/25/2018 :  23:58:07  
dbdave that is EXACTLY what I want to do... brilliant

so keep it simple - how do I do it :) lol

Positivek9
Ecommerce Template Guru

USA
4061 Posts

Pre-sales questions only
(More Details...)

Posted - 07/26/2018 :  04:27:10  
What a great solution David!!

But what I am running into is with MAP... some brands are not allowing you to show anything that may lead a customer to think they may get a better price. No Click Here, Add to Cart for Price, Email/Call...no visible discount, nada. The customer has to take the initiative on their own, like go to the Contact page and ask (like that will happen).

Getting a bit out of hand, me thinks...The best was a rule one put in that the cart has to show the map price, also. (But they also state that you are free to sell their product for whatever you wish, kind of hard to do that..and pretty sure the courts ruled that once a product is placed into a cart/basket, map does not apply.)

Anyways.. I LOVE your solution!! Just wish I could use it.

Julie
Owned & loved by 7 German Shepherds

webspaceunlimited
Advanced Member

United Kingdom
156 Posts

Posted - 07/26/2018 :  07:48:57  
thanks Dave
doing it now :)

dbdave
ECT Moderator

USA
10245 Posts

Posted - 07/26/2018 :  07:49:50  
Wait, my code is not showing completely, part of my post is not showing - working on it now - standby
:::edit::: Ok, the below code should be complete

Edited by - dbdave on 07/26/2018 07:54:41

dbdave
ECT Moderator

USA
10245 Posts

Posted - 07/26/2018 :  07:53:39  
Ok, I think I have the .php version worked out, but please note, I have not tested it. The syntax may be off, but I'm sure we can get it fixed if it doesn't work for you.
Below I have the .asp and .php versions.
REMEMBER - You must have the ask-a-question feature enabled on your site, but if you don't want to use it, see below on how to hide it.

Open proddetail.asp/php in your html editor and make the following changes.

find the include line in the content area of the page
for .asp it is <!--#include file="vsadmin/inc/incproddetail.asp"-->
for .php it is <?php include "vsadmin/inc/incproddetail.php"?>

Just above that line add the following
for .asp it is <%pricezeromessage="<div id=""butnoprc""></div>"%>
for .php it is <?php $pricezeromessage="<div id='butnoprc'></div>";?>

Just below that line add the following
for .asp it is <div style="display:none;" id="nopricebutton"><input value="Email for Price" class="askaquestion" onclick="openEFWindow('<%= productid %>',true)" type="button"></div>
for .php it is <div style="display:none;" id="nopricebutton"><input value="Email for Price" class="askaquestion" onclick="openEFWindow('<?php print $productid;?>',true)" type="button"></div>

Finally, just below that add the following javascript (same for both versions)
<script>
if (document.getElementById('butnoprc') != null) {
document.getElementById('butnoprc').innerHTML = document.getElementById('nopricebutton').innerHTML;
}
</script>


That should do it.
Now, if you are not wanting to use the "ask a question" feature for general questions about your products, you just change the class (in green above) to something else and then add the following to your .css file.
input.askaquestion {display:none;}
If you do decide to use the ask-a-question only for asking for the price, you can go into the languagefile and get the entries for the wording and copy those to your includes, making changes to something for friendly to what you are doing.

Post back with questions or issues.

Edited by - dbdave on 07/26/2018 08:09:47

webspaceunlimited
Advanced Member

United Kingdom
156 Posts

Posted - 07/26/2018 :  07:54:09  
Thanks Dave :)

ok just tried that and it knocks the proddetail page out

http://www.baby-barn.co.uk/proddetail.php?prod=JoieEvaliteDuoStrollerBlack1

dbdave
ECT Moderator

USA
10245 Posts

Posted - 07/26/2018 :  07:55:16  
It was not complete - try this new post above

Phil
ECT Moderator

United Kingdom
7609 Posts

Posted - 07/26/2018 :  07:57:16  
Try it with single quotes

for .php it is <?php $pricezeromessage="<div id='butnoprc'></div>";?>

Just below that line add the following
for .php it is <div style='display:none;' id='nopricebutton'><input value='Email for Price' class='askaquestion' onclick="openEFWindow('<?php print $productid;?>',true)" type='button'></div>



* Database Migrations and Conversions*
* ASP to PHP Cart Conversions*

*Contact Us*
*Buy The PHP Capture Card Plugin*
*Rate Our Services/View Our Feedback*

dbdave
ECT Moderator

USA
10245 Posts

Posted - 07/26/2018 :  07:58:47  
Thanks Phil, I was worried my .php syntax may be off

Phil
ECT Moderator

United Kingdom
7609 Posts

Posted - 07/26/2018 :  08:01:31  
Good work Dave



* Database Migrations and Conversions*
* ASP to PHP Cart Conversions*

*Contact Us*
*Buy The PHP Capture Card Plugin*
*Rate Our Services/View Our Feedback*

dbdave
ECT Moderator

USA
10245 Posts

Posted - 07/26/2018 :  08:11:42  
Hey Richard, it looks like you have it working.

You could also disable the add to cart button there if needed.
It would be easy to do with some additional javascript there.


Thanks Phil.
I guess I need to get a copy of the .php version to play around with.

Edited by - dbdave on 07/26/2018 08:13:56

webspaceunlimited
Advanced Member

United Kingdom
156 Posts

Posted - 07/26/2018 :  08:18:57  
brilliant thank you Dave - brilliant solution :)

Andy
ECT Moderator

95440 Posts

Posted - 07/26/2018 :  08:22:05  
Thanks for all your work on that David - straight to the Top Tips Hall Of Fame for that one! Would you like me to add it there as a tip from your good self?

Andy

Please feel free to review / rate our software
Page: of 5 « Topic »  
Next Page
Jump To:
Shopping Cart Software Forum for Ecommerce Templates © 2002-2022 ecommercetemplates.com
This page was generated in 0.03 seconds. Snitz Forums 2000