Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter View our YouTube channel
Search our site
Author « Topic »  

JustDucky923
Ecommerce Template Guru

USA
1332 Posts

Posted - 05/11/2022 :  06:53:17  
I have a client I've been working with for over 12 years. They have decided to change to a new system (Miva Merchant) and have their new site (new web design company as well) ready to go live. They are just now trying to figure out how to export all of their current customer data. They have around 33,000 customer files and don't want to lose that information.

What can I tell them?

JustDucky923
Ecommerce Template Guru

USA
1332 Posts

Posted - 05/11/2022 :  06:58:47  
I wanted to add a little more info regarding the "new" company that is taking over this site.

My client (soon to be former client) is, understandably upset that they are just learning that they don't have a plan to keep all of their customer data. This is a portion of the email they received from their new web designer: "We talked about the "customers and orders" quite a while back after we first ran into trouble with the platform you were using. We quoted your project out based on thinking it was using WooCommerce, because it looked like it was. It wasn't until we started actually trying to get at the data and you granted us access that we realized the site is built on some unknown platform and the data is kind of whacky."

I'm just a bit surprised that they have no idea how to deal with ECT - and see it as "whacky"? They also said: "We will still be able to bring over the products, the attributes and the customers, albeit bringing over the attributes was going to be GREATLY complicated due to the way the data is integrated within your current platform. The current platform in fact is a total mess."

ECT has work flawlessly for me and many clients over the years - as well as many, many others. I'm confused as to why they are having so much trouble with it.